Those summerdays


The sun is slothfully watching us high in the sky, sky-high you might say. That warm shade of blue, the one associated with heat and the pavement burning my heels, until I give in with a sigh (a secretly summer-blessed sigh) and lift from the ground. Watching my feet dangle in the air as if I'm still a child, while I half-lie on the swing, lazily floating back and forth.


The sun is too bright and the wind is without its breeze, and our breathing is strained, as if there isn't enough air for both of us during this summerday. With one eye closed I open the other one slowly, to make sure you aren't noticing my foolish games, and through a field of black eyelashes I can discern the contures of your body. Your head thrown back, gazing in the sky. Oh how I wish I could read your mind. But I can't.  I try to inhale less of the air, in an attempt to give you more.


You look at me, very suddenly. Have you been watching me for long? Was I just caught in the act of worshipping you? There is no way to decipher that smile, and suddenly I feel so young. A year between us in age, a lifetime in mind. I am shrinking in front of you but the pain in my chest is out of shame for giving you a reason to leave me.


Though you're not mine (my heart is objecting heavily) and so I can not accuse you for leaving me. I wish I could, my entire body is silently screaming out for you. My heart is synchronizing itself with yours and I reduce my breath even more, in a last desperate try to give you everything I have. And you speak, I can see your lips form different words. I can't hear a sound and my eyes are tearing for not being able to focus. Please don't notice, please keep on speaking.


And as if a bubble has burst, the fog has dispersed and I can hear. You speak with a twist, there is a playful tone on the tip of your tongue. Some people would call it an accent. I would say it is a dance among words. And if it is an accent, then it is the weakest spot I have, this love for your accent. Your eyes are smiling, and I dare smiling back. A hand is stretched out and in a moment of spontanious non-thinking I take it. It's a risk. But you'are not letting go, and we are still smiling.


~


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback